Vpn Reviews Vpn Reviews Save Money With Special Discounts VpnReviewz Twitter rss feeds

Vpn Reviews
Best Vpn Providers Reviewed
Special Savings / Discounts
Free Trial Offers

Astrill Review

Astrill Review
Countries 54
Servers 242+
IPs 80,847+
Price $9.98/mnth
Payment: Credit Card, Paypal, Bitcoin
Protocols PPTP, IPSec, OpenVPN, SSTP

Astrill is located in the Seychelles, giving it a significant selling point for those who want some jurisdictional layering and added privacy protection. This provider has limited pricing options, but does deliver in terms of speed and ease of use.

Visit Astrill

Pricing and Plans

Astrill offers personal VPN plans that come with unlimited speed and transfer. The pricing is based on your length of service and is as follows:

  • Three months for $29.95
  •  Six Months for $39.95
  •  One Year for $69.95

You can pay via credit cards, PayPal, Bitcoin and several other payment options.

Free Trial / Money Back Guarantee

Astrill offers a free seven-day trial. You have to contact customer service to get it, but they deliver it via live chat almost instantly. A money back guarantee is not offered, but there is a conditional seven-day refund policy.

Privacy & Anonymity

Astrill does not log user data. Their location makes them suitable as a choice for those truly concerned about privacy, as well.

Torrent Policy

Torrenting is allowed over Astrill’s network.

Customer Support

Customer support is readily accessible. When setting up our free trial, we had to contact support to get it activated. It took all of two minutes via live chat. The company also provides extensive documentation and an online knowledge base.

Product Testing

Astrill Home
Astrill Settings

Visit Astrill

Astrill’s client is small and easy to use. It’s really about as simple as it gets, with a large On/Off button controlling the connection. You can change your VPN protocol by selecting from a dropdown menu at the top of the client screen.

Windows, Mac OSX, Android, IPhone, etc.

Astrill offers a client for Windows, Mac, iPhone and iPad and Android devices. They support Linux with RPM, DEB and command line installer packages, as well.

Speed Test

Astrill Baseline

Astrill Baseline Speedtest

Astrill SpeedTest

Astrill VPN Speedtest

From a performance standpoint, Astrill was excellent. The VPN connection barely slowed down our speed, bringing us to approximately 37Mbps. Hooking up to a server over the Astrill network was remarkably fast.

Visit Astrill

IPCheck and DNSLeak

Without changing any of our DNS settings, Astrill both prevented our DNS address from leaking and hid our IP.

Feature Summary

  • OpenWeb, OpenVPN, PPTP, L2TP/IPSec, Cisco IPSec, SSTP, IKEv2
  •  No logging
  •  Torrents allowed
  •  Bitcoin accepted
  •  Windows, Mac, Android, iOS, Linux
  •  Business packages available

Countries Supported

Czech Republic
Hong Kong
New Zealand
Russian Federation
Saudi Arabia
South Africa
United Kingdom
United States
Viet Nam

We Liked

Between the no-logging policy and taking Bitcoin, this is a great option for privacy.

Visit Astrill

Areas for Improvement

Having to contact support to get the free trial is a bit of a hassle, but a very minor one, at best. The company requires a minimum three-month sign up. A month-to-month option would be an improvement.


Astrill definitely offers a competitive service. They don’t log, they take Bitcoin and they’re located outside of the US, which are all advantages. Their VPN client isn’t quite as sophisticated as some of the other providers out there but, if that’s not an issue for you, they’re worth looking into.

Share This Webpage

Best VPN Service Providers Listings

Best Deal/ Best VPN
VyprVPN5 stars Review
Visit VyprVPN
Best Quality/ Price
IPVanish5 stars Review
Visit IPVanish
Best Brand Name
ExpressVPN5 stars Review
Visit ExpressVPN
Best Deal VPN
HideMyAss5 stars Review
Visit HideMyAss

21 Comments about Astrill Review

  1. Prince on July 29th, 2011

    Does Astrill work with Nigerian ISPs

  2. User597496 on September 2nd, 2011

    Astrill has an affiliate program with attractive commissions. After siging up, they said that they are no longer able to use Paypal to send my payment (despite still advertising it on their site). They then claimed they were having trouble sending the commissions to my bank. Eventually they were able to use Alert Pay to make small payments. Astrill eventually changed the conditions of the affiliate program (several times) without notifying me or other affiliates. They then erased my login credentials, and still owe me a sum of 2,232 USD, which they refuse to pay, and refuse to acknowledge this situation. Most emails are ignored, and those that are responded to make no mention of this sum of money, and if it will be paid or not. In addition, they are rude and short-spoken, but that’s beside the point.

  3. Izzie Nutz on September 6th, 2011

    Extremely inconsistent connections. Most of there servers will work for a short time then totally shut you down. I have to constantly change servers when using Astrill, and while they have a lot, sometimes it is hard to find one with more than 10 Kbps flow.

  4. Chinaren on January 3rd, 2012

    I’ve used Astrill for a few years now (needed here in China). I left it after the first year, but then switched back when China cracked down on VPNs as my other one couldn’t cope with being blocked, and Astrill could.

    That said, I agree with the above comment. Just lately I’ve had to switch out various servers (mainly the US ones) until I’ve found one that works for more than five minutes.

    Not as good as it used to be.

  5. lauren on January 20th, 2012

    I have had unending problems with Astrill and their customer support have proved worthless, which was the same treatment I received from their tech support. Astrill loses connection multiple times an hour, the 43 servers they boast of do not all connect, and in fact most of the time only 2-3 of them are worth even attempting, depending on your location. In short, I can’t recommend that you try something other than Astrill more highly.

  6. G Robson on March 3rd, 2012

    I just almost finished 12 months with Astrill. I have had nothing but issues. When I initially paid there was a problem and they closed down the account as fraudulent, probably because my Paypal account has a UK address and I live in China. I instead created a new account and got a relative in the UK to pay from there and it was sorted. The speeds were often pathetic and switching servers made no difference at all. The tech support was really bad compared to other vpn providers and they seemed more concerned with deflecting any possibility their vpn was the problem even though I was having no issues using other free trials elsewhere.
    When it did work it worked well but this was to random and I was not the only one in China to complain about this. 2.7 appears to have fixed a few things but this could be coincidental and it may have just been working well again when I installed the new beta.
    My biggest gripe now is that just prior to my 12 months expiring they have accused me of my account being linked to a fraud scheme and terminated it. No real details or evidence just their word and goodbye. I had 4 months to go on top the the 12 as I had used their invite a friend system and gained them 4 new customers giving me a free month as a gift. Funny how after alomst 12 months of service, account expiring on the 16th of March and today being the 3rd, that they choose now to decide there is fraud connected with my account :) It could be coincidental but one has to wonder……

    As far as I am concerned they can STICK their free 4 months where the sun doesnt shine. Reading some of the comments posted from other users plus people I know around my city I am glad to be moving on to another company. The tech support are often quite rood and condescending and seemingly quite happily lead you into an argument when all you were doing is seeking help, trying to use what you have paid them for.

    I wouldnt recommend this vpn to anyone unless you enjoy being talked to like you are stupid, risk having your service cut without any notice based on their word they have evidence for soemthing you know cannot be you and enjoy having to constantly change servers as the speed just stops.

    Stick it Astrill. You had and conveniently LOST my business. Give yourselves a big hearty round of applause. Great job, Well done all. NOT

  7. Ed on March 9th, 2012

    I used Astrill for about 10 months from the U.S. I was going to pay for another year when my 1 year approached. But recently Astrill changed all that. I could not log in (error #399). I tried to reset my password on their site. It said it changed and sent me an email confirmation but I still couldn’t log in. I contacted the web support. Mark curtly replied that I should contact level 2 support. He completely ignored my requests for a hint of what might have gone wrong (ignored for about 10 minutes). Level 2 support got back to me in about 1/2 a day. Here is what they sent:

    Your account has been automatically suspended, because you have logged on from a computer connected with one of the accounts involved in a fraud scheme. The computer you kept logging on from is connected to over 112 other accounts, this is considered account sharing and is against Astrill Terms of Service.
    Your account has been terminated due to Astrill Terms of Service violation, under section 5. Use of the Services by you

    So my last message from them is one in which they claim I was stealing their service which just isn’t true. I got no warning, no explanation, no attempt at helping me figure out what had gone wrong.
    Up until then, I was perfectly happy with their service. It had a few glitches, but all VPNs do. But I won’t put up with being treated this badly from someone who is taking my money.

  8. Ed on April 7th, 2012

    As a followup to my post dated March 9: Approximately 48 hours before the March 9 post I had sent Astrill a possible explanation with screenshots of why they might think I had been stealing their service. I told them I would give them 24 hours to give me back my account. Well it turns out that I was right — using a Parallels VM inside of a Mac seemed to set off their alarm bells. Unfortunately for both Astrill and ME, they completely ignored me for over 2 WEEKS! I have since found another VPN provider. I verified beforehand that this VPN provider does not mind my VM setup. This is just too little, too late, Astrill.
    For those who are shopping for a VPN service, I would like to share with you the e-mail that I received from Astrill over two weeks too late:


    We have learned that virtual machine caused your account to be suspended.

    Your account is now fixed. Sorry for the inconvenience caused.

    You can use your Astrill VPN account now. If we have refunded you already, you will need to place a new order from Members section (link deleted by Ed).

    Best regards,
    Astrill Support

  9. Gustavo on April 7th, 2012

    I hadn’t had a problem with them until I started inviting my friends to join (they offer 1 month for free for every friend that joins). The problem is, it didn’t seem to work. We contacted them and the customer service staff was very “brief” and passive-agressive, which made me very uncomfortable about contacting them, especially because I was helping them to get new customers!

    Finally, to get the real proof, I created one account for my friend using the invitation link, in front of me, and it didn’t work – meanwhile I had another friend that was waiting to join but he said he contacted the staff and they told him there was no invitation from me (even that I had sent it more than three times), so the whole thing was a confusion.

    I contacted them again and, after a long time chatting with the staff, the guy left the chat room and called me a dumbass! No joke, I have the printscreen and it is as rude as that. I mean, I have never seen customer service like that, it is outrageous. After I evaluated his service, he sent me an email apologising, saying that he was “arguing with his colleague about my problem”, offering me three months for free, like that was going to make a difference at that point. Now I’d much rather go for a refund, but that will make me go through the pain of contacting them again, which I really don’t want to.

    In a nutshell, their product is not bad, works on ipad and PC, good speed and ok price, but as a service business they are, in my point of view, the worst company I have ever seen!

    I normally wouldn’t complain so much about a service or product, but this situation even made me find a website to review them and hope it helps people to think twice before buying it – because I should have had!

  10. Nathan Siy on August 3rd, 2013

    I’ve been with Astrill for over a year already and have had nothing but unreliable connections, appalling customer service and tech support that was more headache than help.

    As someone above mentioned already, there are only 2 or 3 good servers depending on where you are located. The rest can’t connect or get disconnected in less than a few hours. I’ve had that same experience as well.

    But the cherry on top has to be at the 1 year mark. I was so dissatisfied with their service I was going to move to another provider. Then they say “we have this new StealthPro and RouterPro service. Guaranteed to be trouble free and undetectable”. So I end up paying the basic year again AND adding on $120 USD charge for this additional service. BS!!! It works no better than the original service, still has dropped connections and their tech support won’t lift a finger to help you.


  11. josh on August 14th, 2013

    they are a scam , do not use them, paid for service , but service does not work and refuse to refund even use credit card to pay, open credit card dispute and can not get refund back. scam company

  12. wnyasia on January 21st, 2014

    Astrill does not work properly all the time, it crashes a lot in China. Their tech support said they can’t do anything so I asked for my money back and they said they don’t do that. Now I have a VPN that does not work and I paid for. They are full of SHIT and rude as hell!!!! Don’t trust them, go somewhere else!!!

  13. stan on March 29th, 2014

    Wow!! nice post. I am at the process of purchasing a plan with this company. {Astrill). I have read here nothing good about their services.. Could anyway refer me to better , reliable and more efficient VPN company??? Your help would be greatly appreciated.. I am base here in China . Thank u.

  14. vpadmin on April 11th, 2014

    hi Stan .. I would start your investigation here to choose among the best VPNS https://vpnreviewz.com/best-vpn-service-providers/

  15. L Poulin on July 28th, 2014

    I wonder if you could help me?

    I would like to contact the manager or the person in charge of their CSR support at Astrill for a complain.

    I tried several to ask the CSR (about 20 times via chat and via telephone) but no luck.

    She kept making up all kind of excuses, I got disconnected, etc.

    If you would happen to know how I could get in touch with the right person, I would greatly appreciated.

    Thank you,

    L. Poulin

  16. Jambon on August 4th, 2014

    Terrible customer service! Very rude!

    I had my account removed because I used a marketing tool that crawled my website (400 requests, which I don’t think is so much) one time.

    I contacted customer service and they were very rude and unwilling to unblock my account or even give me a refund although I paid for a year!!!

    Horrible customer service and rude, will never use them again.

  17. Astrill victim on September 4th, 2014

    Don’t use Astrill.

    I only had them two weeks and they blocked my account as ‘fraudulent’ because I had the nerve to spend a weekend out of the country. Their customer service refuses to even reply to your emails, and even insulted me calling me rude for sending multiple disgruntled emails when no one actually got in touch to help.
    I sent photo ID and a picture of my credit card to prove that I was legitimate, as they asked, and was met with silence. I’m still yet to hear back from them.

    They stole my money and wasted my time.

    Avoid like the plague

  18. dave on September 12th, 2014

    I have been trying for weeks to sort out my Astrill system.
    I have paid them until May 2015 for Astrill Stealth VPN, however I can only get Astrill OpenWeb.

    Getting a password to get into OpenWeb was difficult enough now
    moving to VPN seems impossible and as per the August 2014 comment I am not receiving a decent service.
    No one responds to tell me how to receive the service I have paid for ie Stealth VPN

  19. pedro on September 20th, 2014

    Last month August was canceled with the excuse that was be used for spamming, I lost near 4 months and the only assistant just gave my an stupid answer with cold goodby saying that my account was under proving.
    There service it’s getting worse in China, this is just another bad company. Don’t trust your credit card or other sensible information with this company.

  20. elpern on January 30th, 2015

    I can’t believe how poor their customer service is. Regardless of the product, I have never had a company be as rude as they were. I develop mobile apps for a living and when I asked them to tell me how to set up an effective desktop application because it hadn’t been working for a month, the online support said, “have you ever seen a computer?” I couldn’t believe it.

    And they just enrolled me in a service that doesn’t work in China and after two months on a two year contract that I purchased based on their customer service rep stating it works in China, they refuse to give me any money back.

    DO NOT USE THEM. We now use ExpressVPN and it is pretty good. Use any of the other services.

  21. TBrown on August 25th, 2015

    Read below post by Astrill ex-employee and judge for yourself. (Original post: http://bit.ly/1Ub4HAm)

    “I worked for Astrill so I can tell you the claims attributed to them on that page are mostly bullshit.

    1) We do not keep logs

    Reality) False. They do keep logs. With reguard to http traffic, they log every single single page loaded for every customer using their VPN servers. They log your account number, the requested url, the time of the request. This information is kept for months at a time and then thrown into a journal system.

    2) We do not disclose your customer information

    Reality) Mostly true. Astrill is mostly concerned with closing the accounts of people who abuse their network. If anyone asks they will say they can’t identify what customers are doing, but in reality is Astrill is constantly scanning through their logs looking for people running scripts which hit google/facebook (or any other site) too frequently, and then those accounts are disabled.

    3) We may enable logs on a server in case of network abuse

    Reality) False. Http requests are logged on all servers and that data is kept for a minimum of three months. Always. When I asked about this discrepancy between what they say publicly and what they do privately I was told we would do whatever it takes to run the company (even if that includes deceiving the customers).

    4) We do not store any files, we provide IP transit only. Therefore, we can’t fulfill any “take down(s)”

    Reality) False. Astrill receives a whole bunch of take down notices every single day and then blocks users from reaching those destinations. One of the uses of the logs they keep is to locate copyright troll IPs. We developed scripts to compare take down requests (which include our offending torrent IP addresses and time stamps) to locate the trolls, and then block our clients from connecting to them. We still did a lot of take downs, but by locating copyright troll IPs (by running scripts on our logs) we were able to block many IPs.

    5) The majority of users use shared IP space therefore we are not able to identify the customer

    Reality) False. We knew exactly who registered what accounts and logs every one’s activity. We can and do identify your account. We close accounts each day for abuse. We were working on a system to throw abusive accounts onto one server. I don’t know what progress was made in this endeavor.

    6) P2P activity is allowed on many of our servers

    Reality) True. These are the servers marked with a star in the connection tools we provide.”

Leave a comment about Astrill Review

Visit Astrill